Eight Royals Earn All-Landmark Conference Honors

Senior Mike Deliberti (left) and junior Matt Finor repeated as all-Landmark Conference selections today.
Senior Mike Deliberti (left) and junior Matt Finor repeated as all-Landmark Conference selections today.
Mike Deliberti Matt Finor John Gregitis
Nicholas McKaba Alec Mikrut Ryan Millard
Ryan Saraceni   Gus Sturm

Eight members of The University of Scranton men’s lacrosse team earned all-Landmark Conference honors, Kirbie Britt, associate commissioner, announced today.

Six were named first team in a ballot conducted among the league’s head coaches, while two—senior short-stick midfielder Mike Deliberti (Fairfield, Conn./Fairfield Ludlowe) and junior face-off specialist Matt Finor (Churchville, Pa./Council Rock South)—landed all-conference honors for the second straight season.

Joining Deliberti on the first team were senior midfielder John Gregitis (Wayne, Pa./St. Joseph’s Preparatory), sophomore midfielder Alec Mikrut (Belle Mead, NJ/Montgomery), junior long-stick midfielder Ryan Millard (Long Valley, NJ/West Morris Central), senior defenseman Ryan Saraceni (Lansdale, Pa./LaSalle), and sophomore goalkeeper Nicholas McKaba (Long Valley, NJ/West Morris).

Finor is joined on the second team by senior attacker Gus Sturm (Devon, Pa./Conestoga).

Deliberti, Millard, Saraceni and McKaba make up the core of a Royal defensive unit that is allowing only 6.86 goals per game, the second lowest average in school history.  Overall, Scranton has held seven opponents to five-or-fewer goals, including three in conference play.

Deliberti and Millard have scooped 57 and 55 ground balls, respectively, while Saraceni, a two-time team captain, has been credited with 25.

Gregitis, Mikrut and Sturm are the Royals’ top three scoring threats with 41, 38 and 24 total points, respectively.  All three have also scored at least 22 goals this season for an offensive unit that averages nearly nine goals per game.

Gregitis and Mikrut are currently ranked fourth and sixth in the conference in scoring, respectively, while Sturm’s 24 goals are a career high and the sixth most in the league.

Finor is honored again after winning nearly 69 percent of his face-off attempts and leading the Royals with 83 ground balls.  He has won at least 50 percent of his face-offs in 14 of 16 games.

The top individual award went to Austen Lein of Susquehanna University (player of the year), Chris Whitenack of the Merchant Marine Academy (rookie of the year), and Drew University (coaching staff of the year).

A complete listing of the Landmark Conference award recipients in men’s lacrosse can be found by clicking here.